

Standing Council on Health

(meeting as the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council)

COMMUNIQUE

6 May 2014

HEALTH MINISTERS ANNOUNCE APPOINTMENTS

Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia Chinese Medicine Board of Australia Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia Pharmacy Board of Australia

The Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council (the Ministerial Council) is pleased to announce the following National Board appointments.

Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (the NMBA)

- Dr Lynette Cusack appointed as new Chair, Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia to 30 August 2015 (the end of her current and continuing term of appointment as practitioner member (registered nurse) from South Australia).
- Adjunct Associate Professor Veronica Casey appointed as a practitioner member (registered nurse and registered midwife) from Queensland, Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia for a period of three years to 4 May 2017.

Chinese Medicine Board of Australia

• Dr Anne Fletcher – appointed as a community member on the Chinese Medicine Board of Australia for a period of three years to 1 May 2017.

Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia

• Ms Mary Edwards – appointed as a community member on the Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia for a period of three years to 1 May 2017.

Pharmacy Board of Australia

• Dr Rodney (Rod) Wellard – reappointed for a second term as a community member on the Pharmacy Board of Australia for a period of three years to 4 May 2017.

Health Ministers congratulated Dr Cusack on her appointment as the new Chair of the NMBA and expressed confidence in her ability to provide strong and strategic leadership of the NMBA as new Chair and contribute to the regulatory work of the board in her continuing role as an inaugural practitioner member from South Australia. Health Ministers also wished to thank the outgoing Chair, Ms Anne Copeland, for her contributions as inaugural Chair and practitioner member from Queensland.

Adjunct Associate Professor Casey was warmly welcomed by Health Ministers who acknowledged her contributions to the national registration and accreditation scheme as a practitioner member on the Queensland board of the NMBA. Health Ministers are confident

that Adjunct Associate Professor Casey will make valuable contributions to her new role with the NMBA through her regulatory experience gained as a state board member, combined with her expertise in health administration and clinical practice.

Health Ministers were delighted by the interest that was shown by the nursing and midwifery profession in the practitioner member from Queensland vacancy and the role of new board chair, and thanked all practitioners who took the time to apply. Ministers were pleased with the diversity reflected in the 11 applications received from male and female RNs, RNs/RMs, EN, and midwives living in metropolitan, rural and regional areas of Queensland.

A total of 38 applications were received for the community member vacancy on the Chinese Medicine Board, and 41 applications were received for the vacancy on the Medical Radiation Practice Board, with the majority of applicants expressing an interest in both vacancies. Health Ministers warmly welcomed Dr Fletcher and Ms Edwards to their new roles, and look forward to the contributions they will make, and the community perspectives that they will bring to the work of these boards.

A total of 50 applications were received for the community member vacancy on the Pharmacy Board, which arose due the end of the appointed member's first term. Ministers decided to appoint Dr Rod Wellard for a second term as a community member, and welcomed his continuing valuable contributions on this board.

Health Ministers acknowledged the strong and diverse field of candidates for the community member vacancies and thanked everyone who took the time to apply for appointment.

Health Ministers look forward to the interest in the regulatory work of the National Boards continuing into the future.

All appointments and reappointments are made by the Ministerial Council under the *Health Practitioner Regulation National Law*, as in force in each state and territory, following public advertisement.

Media Contact: Standing Council on Health Secretariat, 08 8226 6191