Physiotherapists must be registered with the Physiotherapy Board of Australia, and meet the Board's Registration Standards, in order to practise in Australia.

If you were registered with a State or Territory registration board as at 30 June 2010 you will have automatically transitioned to the new national registration and accreditation scheme. Your registration is now recognised in the States and Territories of Australia that have enacted the National Law.

Frequently asked questions about the National Scheme are available on the AHPRA website. Comprehensive information about the registration process is also available.

Registration Types

The new physiotherapy registration types are:

  • general registration
  • limited registration:
    • postgraduate training or supervised practice
    • teaching or research
    • in the public interest
  • non-practising registration
  • student registration 

Physiotherapists who have become qualified outside of Australia and wish to apply for registration can find information on our overseas qualified physiotherapists page.

Converting to new Registration types

The Physiotherapy Registration Transition Plan shows how registration types in place in each State and Territory converted to the new registration types and endorsements under the National Law after 1 July 2010.

Registration Renewal

The registration renewal date for the physiotherapy profession is 30 November - the annual renewal date for the profession under the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme.

Physiotherapists who renewed their registration by either 30 June or 1 July 2011 were given valid registration for five months and must renew again. The registration renewal cycle for all physiotherapists in Australia is now aligned and annual registration is due each year by 30 November.

Physiotherapists can check their details and registration expiry date on the National Registers of Practitioners.

You will be sent a reminder when your registration is due. Look out for this as confirmation that you can renew online. See Fees for cost of annual renewal.

See FAQ and Fact Sheets for information on renewal. To renew your registration, go to the AHPRA login page.

Who is AHPRA?

The Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) supports the 14 National Boards in their role of protecting the public and setting standards and policies that all registered health practitioners must meet.

AHPRA and the National Boards work together to register and renew health practitioners and, where required, investigate complaints or concerns regarding health practitioners.

AHPRA's operations are governed by the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law which came into effect on 1 July 2010. This law applies in each Australian state and territory, and is sometimes referred to on our sites as ‘the National Law’.

All health practitioners registered to practise are included on the national register of practitioners which is managed by AHPRA.

Find out more about AHPRA.

Page reviewed 1/09/2016